If you have been using an iOS device for a while now, then you know how important iCloud can be. Other than keeping the data on your device safe, iCloud is one of the best ways to sync data across devices, allowing you to see the same photos, videos, messages and other types of data on all devices that are using the same Apple ID.
Therefore, it is understandable to be hesitant about signing out of your iCloud account. If you are wondering what will happen if you do, the following complete guide will help you make the decision.
The following is what you can expect when you sign out of your Apple ID:
Cannot download and update apps from App Store.
iCloud service & data will be inaccessible.
Apple music will beunusable.
Find My (iPhone) service will be unavailable.
FaceTime and iMessage will be unavailable.
When you sign out of your iCloud account, you will not be able to access the App Store. This means that you will not be able to install any new apps on the device or even be able to update the apps already on the device without signing back in or creating a new Apple ID.
If you sign out of your iCloud account, the iCloud service will be blocked. This means that you will not be able to access your data including photos and contacts on any device. The new photos and other updates on the device will not upload to iCloud and the data will not be synced with iCloud. The data already in iCloud will remain intact and all other devices associated with the same Apple ID will continue to sync with iCloud.
It is important to note however, that any third-party data such as WhatsApp and YouTube that were stored in iCloud will be removed from the device the moment you sign out of iCloud. Your iCloud Backup, iCloud photos, iCloud Drive, iCloud Keychain, iCloud Mail, messages in iCloud and more will also be removed from the device.
Apple Music can only work when there is an active Apple ID connected to the account. Therefore, when you sign out of iCloud, you will be unable to use Apple Music. You will not be able to stream songs on Apple Music and all downloaded music will also be removed from the device’s storage. The synced playlists will however still be available in iCloud.
Find My iPhone will also only work when there is an active Apple ID connected it. Therefore, signing out of your Apple ID means that you will not be able to lock or erase the iPhone remotely and you won’t be able to locate the device in case it is lost or stolen.
Signing out of iCloud and removing your Apple ID will also disable Activation Lock. You will also get an email from Apple that “Find My” has been disabled as soon as you remove your Apple ID.
FaceTime and iMessage will continue to be functional even if you sign out of your Apple ID. But they will only work if there is a phone number connected to FaceTime and iMessage. If you had been using Apple ID for FaceTime and iMessage, you will not be able to use them.
Signing out of your Apple ID will not affect the data of the device. It will only remove any copies of the data in iCloud. In fact, iCloud will ask if you would like to delete the data on the device. So, don’t worry, signing out of iCloud will not cause any data loss.
Still, it may be a good idea to backup the data on your iPhone to iTunes before signing out of your Apple ID. Here’s how to do it:
Step 1: Open iTunes and make sure that you are running the latest version.
Step 2: Connect the iPhone to computer and when prompted, tap “Trust this Computer”.
Step 3: Select the device and then click on the “Summary” tab.
Step 4: Click “Back up Now” and keep the device connected until the process is complete.
There you have it! Now you know what will happen when you sign out of your iCloud. It is our hope that we’ve been able to help you decide if you would like to remove the Apple ID from the device.
Highly interested in technology and mobile products, FoneGeek team devote to writing technical articles and sharing useful solutions to fix issues on iPhone/iPad and Android devices.